MIT Zero Robotics Challenge 2017
Gunn High School

View the Team on GitHub @GunnZeroRobotics

Gunn Zero Robotics

Zero Robotics is an annual robotics programming competition held by MIT. Every year a unique challenge is released, motivated by a problem of interest to DARPA, NASA, and MIT. Programs are fully autonomous and are designed to run on SPHERES (Synchronized Position Hold Engage and Reorient Experimental Satellites) which run on the International Space Station.

The 2017 SPACE-S challenge requires picking up and moving virtual items, while solving complex mathematical navigational challenges along the way. It emphasizes efficient flight plans and autonomous decision making.


The Gunn Zero Robotics Team is a programming team from Gunn High School (Palo Alto, CA) that participates in the Zero Robotics Challenge. The team is completely student-centered, and it is the students who lead and push the team forward.

Our team has over 40 years of combined programming experience, with many members having participated in a FIRST sanctioned robotics competition.

2017 Season: Our team composed of Alex Gao (co-captain), Larry Zhou (co-captain), Tejpal Virdi, Kevin Li, Renee Su, Steve Jiang, Peter Li, John Guibas, Frederic Wang, Andrew Shi, and Jonathan Park. Our team was in alliance with RoBoVall from Fossano, Italy, and Astro Space Systems from North Caldwell, New Jersey. We finished twenty-fifth in the alliance round and nineteenth in the virtual round.

2016 Season: Our team composed of Alex Gao (Captain), Kevin Li, Andrew Shi, Steve Jiang, Gautam Mittal, Larry Zhou, Carmel Baharav, Chela New, Michael Huang, and Max Wang. Our team was in an alliance with Zanneio Stardust from Piraeus, Greece, and NullPointerException from Ambler, Pennsylvania. We were the third seeded alliance in the world and competed at the International Space Station Finals held at MIT.

Current Members

2017 pictures taken by Dajiana Huang

Alex Gao Alex Gao (Co-captain)
Larry Zhou Larry Zhou (Co-captain)

Tejpal Virdi Tejpal Virdi
Kevin Li Kevin Li

Renee Su Renee Su
Steve Jiang Steve Jiang

Peter Li Peter Li
Frederic Wang Frederic Wang

John Guibas

Andrew Shi
Jonathan Park

2017 Season Pictures

2017 Group Picture
2017 Group Picture

2016 Season Pictures

2016 Group Picture
2016 Group Picture
2016 Group Picture